Pub. L. 109-364 John Warner National Defense Authorization Act for Fiscal Year 2007

109th Congress

December 17, 2006

120 Stat. 2083


H.R. 5122

An Act

To authorize appropriations for fiscal year 2007 for military activities of the Department of Defense, for military construction, and for defense activities of the Department of Energy, to prescribe military personnel strengths for such fiscal year, and for other purposes .

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the United States of America in Congress assembled,

Note: This Public Law has been modified on I-LINK to only include section 1074 which provides for extension of returning worker exemption to H-2B Numerical Limitation.


(a) Short Title- This Act may be cited as the `John Warner National Defense Authorization Act for Fiscal Year 2007′.


  • (a) In General- Section 214(g)(9) of the Immigration and Nationality Act (8 U.S.C. 1184(g)(9)) is amended–
    • (1) by amending the first sentence of subparagraph (A) to read as follows: `Subject to subparagraphs (B) and (C), an alien who has already been counted toward the numerical limitation of paragraph (1)(B) during fiscal year 2004, 2005, or 2006 shall not again be counted toward such limitation during fiscal year 2007.’; and (2) in subparagraph (B), by striking `referred to in subparagraph (A)’ and inserting `to admit or otherwise provide status under section 101(a)(15)(H)(ii)(b)’.
  • (b) Deletion of Prior Sunset Provision- Section 402(b)(1) of the Save Our Small and Seasonal Businesses Act of 2005 (title IV of division B of Public Law 109-13; 119 Stat. 318; 8 U.S.C. 1184 note) is amended by striking `2004,’ and all that follows through the period at the end and inserting `2004.’.
  • (c) Effective Date- The amendments made by this section shall take effect on October 1, 2006. If this section is enacted after October 1, 2006, the amendments made by this section shall take effect as if enacted on such date.

Speaker of the House of Representatives .
Vice President of the United States and
President of the Senate .